The Awesome Blogger Award

Dear fellow Babblers,

Processed with Rookie Cam

If you’ve been following my drab old life of a 22-year-old going on 42 then you’ll know that these past few weeks have been a bit bumpy, uneventful and all together yicky icky. I was having personal problems along with the good ‘ole unemployed-college-graduate problems. Well if you have come here for more wishy washy “Delphine’s life sucks” going ons I’m here to tell ya to stick your head in a toilet and do a swishy cause yo girl going to France for a year. Yup yup yup. So if any of y’all living in France be sure to hand over them digits so i can give you a ring and we can bond over some excellent chorizos and churros. No wait, that was my Mexican side coming out. I swear, I better get my sh** straight before I get over there or I’m pretty sure I’ll be deported. But in all seriousness I’m going to be an English teacher in Dijon, the Burgundy region for an entire year beginning in just a couple of weeks. I’ve always wanted to live in a small town on the countryside which is why I didn’t choose Paris or somewhere more city-like. I wanted Provence, but unfortunately was not an option *boo hoo,* whatevs’ I’ll be taking the high speed train there all the time (don’t let my dad know that *shhhh*). I’m super excited I just can’t hide it. I’ll have to be teaching hormonally awkward high school students which is very unfortunate for me but I’m hoping with enough sugary goodies I can bribe the kiddos to like me.

Anyway, onto the actual post, enough of me even though I know all y’all care to know more more more about my upcoming adventure. I was tagged by my blogging best friend for life, Alex at coffeeloving bookoholic for the Awesome Blogger Award. Yes my dear honey bunches of oats, it was a lonnggggg time ago since this tag but as you know, I’m quite late in just about everything given the ants in my pants that have been invading my brain as of late. Thank you very much dearest Alex for this tag because as we all know, I’m one awesome teeny weeny turkey (lol-idk). 

          Rule-eeeyows:

According to the rules summed up by Alex I’m supposed to say thanks… GRACIAS ALEX. And then I’m supposed to say the purpose of this award. Okay, no offense fellow bloggers but, ummm…? The Awesome Blogger Award. Do the math kiddos, I ain’t dumbing myself down to explain no logistics here. Moving on. Now I post the banner. Scroll up my lovelies and you will see the creative banner, perhaps invented by our good ‘ole freebie Canva (those of us to cheap to buy Photoshop know all about this site sent from heaven). Then do your nominator a favor by responding to their posed questions. If you don’t you ain’t awesome no more. Nope – do your awesome blogging duty, will ya?!?! Finally nominate five bloggers who you think are awesome, or not a total bore to read from. Write ten knew questions, don’t be lazy now and go copying the same 10 questions of your nominator. And the last rule which I never follow as I find it completely and utterly bonkers is to let your nominees know that you have tagged them (ain’t that what a pingback supposed to do?).

          Now the fun part – Alex’s Questions: (you can really tell a lot about a person by their inquisitiveness)

               1. What food would you recommend everyone to try at least once?

Umm? I’m a really picky eater and I really hate change and trying out new foods. So I ain’t about to go telling my beloved readers what they should eat. I mean, for peets sake it’s your freaking body not mine. Your digestive system. Not mine. Eat whatever will make your soul happy! For me, it’s gigantic ooey gooey chocolate chip vegan cookies. Very unoriginal but… YUM! So please do yourself a favor and EAT a cookie (I basically just contradicted myself but whatevs. Pretend I’m making sense).

 

               2. Which character do you love with a burning passion?

Porky the Pig! Wait, was I supposed to choose a book character here? Yikes, my bad. Well, if I’m going to be asked a question about food followed by a question about a lovable figure then you dayumm straight its going to my chubby little Looney Tunes friend, Porky the Pig. He makes expanded bellies and eating obsessions absolutely acceptable and undeniably adorable.

               3. Do you prefer reading in first or third person? Present or past tense?

Yo Alex, that’s two questions, what gives? Lol, just kiddddinngggg (but seriously, that’s two!). I really like the feeling of being able to look into a characters mind and perceive everything as it is happening. Like that, it’s almost as though I’m in the storyworld and the character him or herself – without having to die, turn into a warewolf, or whatever misfortune the character undergoes (yes – there’s always a misforturne, or else what’s the point of a freaking narrative?!?! Life ain’t all cupcakes and lucky charms people!). And that’s exactly how I feel when I read a book in first person – as though I’m the character and not just a reader. I like when stories are happening in present time – AKA present tense. It’s easier to get to know a character if I’m able to perceive situations as they occur. Also , I don’t typically find characters who tell stories in the past tense very trustworthy. I mean, is our memory really relaible? Really ? Uh, well, mine’s not. Unless you gonna ask me what I ate last night, there’s really very little chance that I’m able to tell a story with 100% accuracy (the term for this is “selective memory”, please Google on your own).

               4. If you could spend a day in any city, where would it be?

I’m not a city chica. I’ve lived in the city all my life and let me tell ya, it ain’t all that great. Theres’s smog, cranky old people, slutty prostitutes, stuck up business men and woman, not to mention crime left and right. This is why I’m super excited to make Dijon my new home for the next year. I’m excited for the lifestyle change and the inevitable peace and tranquility I’m bound to discover for the very first time in my 22 years of living on our mother earth! So don’t forget, if you’re in France, gimme them digits and lets bond face-to-face! I promise I’m not an curly hairy monster. I’m just me. 5 feet, 1 inch señorita Delphine with the big mouth and non-tameable curly locks!

               5. Do you collect anything other than books?

I’m a heavy duty shopper.  I can’t exactly say I collect clothes or shoes, as that just not something one “collects.” But I do tend to make just about everyday a shopping day. I’m a girl and I love to look pretty… AND YOU ARE IN POSITION TO JUDGE ME. And guess what else?! Now that I’m going to France I have the perfectest perfect reason to go shopping more than ever so I have the most “perfect” and “functional ” wardrobe when I arrive in ma petite ville.

               6. What was your favorite movie to watch as a kid?

When it comes to films I have the attention span of a fly and the patience of a bratty infant. I’m the girl that gets up in the first five minutes of a movie only to walk around outside in the lobby or spend the next 20 minutes in a bathroom stall pretending to have diarrhea. I just don’t do movies. Never have. I doubt I ever will. Why would I just sit in place for two hours watching colors, and voices flash by a screen when I can read and imagine these characters and actions in any way I want, tailoring the “move” to my own liking. Books rule my world and movies have no place. Sorry, not sorry.

               7. What do you spend most of your time doing?

I’m going to take it as a given that I’m not allowed to pick reading here.If I’m going to add this restriction then I’d probably have to say walking. I know it’s weird but I love walking. It gives me a chance to daydream, make plans, and simply clear my head. Also, it’s a wonderful form of exercise and you are guaranteed a 100% awkward farmers tan. Los angeles has been going through a humongous heat wave lately, no thanks to global warming, but I’ll keep my prissy, hippy comments to myself here. As a result, it’s almost unthinkable for me to go on my daily 3-4 hour walks. Instead, I get up extra early, usually at 4 and go on a long, treacherous run. Then I come home and do some stretching It’s how my day starts and probably my number one activity of choice after reading.

               8. Tell us something about yourself?

Hmm… I would rather be alone than with anyone. I’m my own best friend and I’m not all that big on extravagant outing with people that I am very unlikely to remain friends with until my dying day (dramatic much?!). Sure, I’m a huge talker and once someone gets me going on a heated subject then it’s hours and will take an army of penguins to get my to shut up. But when it comes down to it, talking just takes a lot of energy and effort. I’ve learned from experience that most people don’t like talking about books and relationships aren’t romantic the way they are in books. I can have romance and joy in books without heartbreak, so why be in possibly bad company when I can be in positively positive company all the time? (That was a rhetorical question. If you can’t answer that in a heartbeat you’re officially a ding dong and no longer my friend).

              9. Favorite smell?

Honeysuckle! I’m a summer babe and all I want is to dance around in meadows and meadows of flowers naked and eat fruit from the trees and drink water from the canal. That’s how much I love being outside. Flowers remind me of the simple pleasures in life and the possibility of another life apart from digital media and the influence of politics and technology. Honeysuckle is that sweet, innocent smell. When you come across a honeysuckle tree you just… know. And, at least for me, a smile is almost automatic on my face and any negative feelings or discontentment that I may be feeling almost instantly disappears and is replaced with joy, harmony, and the promise of better days to come. Yup… GOOD VIBES!

               10 What’s your favorite love triangle that actually worked??

If I had not had read To All the Boys I Loved Before I would have sent you a virtual whack on the shoulder for even daring to suppose such a situation Alex. But now that I’ve officially fallen in love with the series I can say that love triangles do work. Just take a look at Lara Jean Covey, Peter Kavinsky, and John McClaren in the first book of the trilogy?!? I love this Young Adult title and I’m in complete and utter love with Peter forever and ever so back off Lara Jean I’m comin for ya baby boo!!!


My 5 Awesome-Possums: 

Hanna @ HANNA READS
Raven @ Dreamy Addictions
Susan @ Susanlovesbooks
Bookstooge’s Reviews on the Road
Ally @ Ally Writes Things

Now. Questions. Questions. Questions because I’m a rule-follower:

What are you doing after writing this post?
Do you enjoy being nominated from blogging awards or do you find them tedious (please explain, as I DETEST yes/no half-ass answers)
What’s your aesthetic? (bohemian, punk, sophisticated) Include three images puh-leese.
What song is reflective of your current mood?
What are your favorite posts to write?
What’s a typical Saturday look like for you?
What’s your best childhood memory?
Sweet or Salty?
Biggest bookish pet peeve?
Describe your personality in 5 words (adjectives. No nouns. I already know your either a human or a monkey)

So thats all folks. It’s been a pleasure. And more happy days to come as I prepare for my move in the upcoming weeks!!

Yours Truly,

(Image credits go to Google)

14 thoughts on “The Awesome Blogger Award

  1. I’m so happy for you! Congratulations. France is an amazing country – I’ve had the opportunity to go there twice, in 2005 and 2008. Paris was cool, but I loved loved loved the Mediterranean coast! If you can, visit Nice. It’s divine!!! One of my friends from college did something very similar – She just came home from a year in Spain, teaching English. She had a blast!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Laura Beth! I’m so relieved I finally have some sort of plan *phew* Have you been to Provence? I’m sooo looking forward to traveling there! I will definitely be visiting Nice and the coast that’s an absolute MUST!!!
      Wow – really? I’ve been to Madrid, it’s lovely there just the same! ❤

      Like

  2. oh my wonderful wonderful wonderful girl!!! ❤️
    1. thanks for making me laugh so hard! i really needed that today! 😘
    2. yo, i just passed on the questions 😜 seriously, would i ever ask a love triangle question? 😂 (but i like your choice)
    3. last but not least: you say whaaaaat? you’re going to be teaching in france? what the what? 😳😳😳 that is sooooooo freaking amazing!!! i can’t believe it! congratulations girl, that’s like the fantastictest news ever!!! i am so happy for you and hugging you so much! 😍😍😍 you better be visiting berlin for a weekend 😜

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hahah – I finally got my mood swings back in check lol.
      I didn’t get that part until I noticed that you said that your questions were a mix – LOL MY BAD!!!! 😀
      YESS! I’m a bit nervous as my French isn’t yet up to par but WHATEVS – food is on my mind like no tomorrow!
      I will DEFINITELY be visiting Berlin – that’s next on my list right after Provence!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Oh my, congratulations!!!!!! ❤ I'm so happy for you, I might be smiling a little bit too much!!

    Great post, as always! Congrats of the award and huge thanks for the nomination! I'll try to do this some day this week.
    (looks like i may have used a lot of exclamation marks)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

