Blogger Recognition Award

Dear fellow Babblers,

Well hey there my lovelies. What’s craka ‘lackin in your hood. Wanna hear about mine? You say no? Then why you reading this you dolt? Jkjk. But seriously, what gives ? Not much is happening here in Los Angeles other than the news I’ve just received over at Twitter. Ready for this? The hottie tottie author of They Both Die at the End, Adam Silvera, is going to be on tour at The Grove on September 8th. I am so stoked to see this man in person – oh yeah, buy the book too *wink * wink * Give me them digits Adam).

Any-whooz-it I’m here as nominee of the Blogger Recognition Award. My nominator: Laura Beth at Hot Shot Headlines. I just met her a couple weeks here on wordpress and I’m sure glad that I did as she is not only an amazing writer and blogger, but such a delight to babble with. On her blog you can find a number of book reviews, chats, as well as writing updates – I swear this gal is haulin’ mules on her blog – I’m so jealous, is that obvious yet? If you haven’t yet followed her then allow me to wag the naughty finger at you as you are missing out on some very insightful and fun and beautifully written posts. 

Whatcha Gotta Do Do Do:

  • Thank your nominator (bluntly: take the stick out of your hiney and be grateful that you’ve been recognized!)
  • How’d your blog become your blog (again, bluntly: this shizz ain’t magic. Whatca doin’ here home boy? (or girl))
  • Offer 2 recommendations for your fellow bloggers (again again, bluntly: what to do in order to not make your blog a piece of pointless doody – yes I did just say doody)
  • Recognize 10 more bloggers (again again again, bluntly: You ain’t the only purdy birdy, so show some love to others!)
  • Let your nominees know you’ve recognized them (do I gotta be blunt again here, or you get the picture?)

                    L’histoire de Delphine’s Babble on Some Good Reads:

I used to run a blog that was driven by art criticism and my thoughts on the meaning of art – paintings in particular. Well long story short… FAIL FAIL FAIL. I love art almost as much as I love books (I’m an aesthetic – I live for art, what can I say), but I just couldn’t really find my voice and I quickly felt drowned by the industry so after a while I just ignored my blog completely.

Back in May, as I was getting ready to graduate from UCLA with my Bachelor of Arts in Comparative Literature and French I had a crisis, like a complete and utter mental breakdown. I realized that I was going to be free from academia soon and I had no idea where my life was headed. I always knew I wanted to work somewhere within the book industry, but, if any of you are in the industry now, will know what I mean when I say “WTF?!?! I have a degree, experience, passion and you still tellin’ me I’m under qualified?!?!?” So I began second guessing my abilities and where my future was leading. I was even considering starting all over again from scratch and studying mathematics instead, just so I would eventually be guaranteed a job.

My mama was there to really knock some sense into my cloudy mind. She reminded me of my passion, my childhood, and how books have really directed my life, decisions, and who I am today. In less flowery language: “suck it up, pull your s*** together, and do what you gotta do to break into the industry!”

So I returned to wordpress during this life crisis. I wasn’t exactly sure how I was going to approach my new account, but I was going to take my mama’s word’s to heart and allow my love of books to direct my upcoming decisions. I made my account with the intention to rediscover why and how it was that I became a bibliophile. I wanted to share my thoughts and meet others who are avid readers just like myself.

Here I am, three months later to say that I am so grateful for the book blogging community and I’m not sure why it took me so long to make it onto the book community. Reviews, memes, tags, discussions. I’ve made so many new buddies. In real life, I’m a bit of a chatterbox and love to talk about books. There’s not many people I know who really like talking about books or have any idea what I’m talking about so half the time I just get nods and “mhms” right and left which is basically code for “please shut up already.” So, as y’all can probably imagine, the book blogging community has really become my outlet. And as I continue to grow as a person, I discover knew bookish and even personal, facts about myself which I probably would not have known if I had not started blogging.

…Whoa. Dude, Delphine. You basically gave an autobiography of the last three months of your life… WHAT GIVES. I’ll shut up now – I know, I know.

                    How to not make your blog turd:

Speak complete and fluent one hundred percent you! People will discover,read, and decide to follow your blog because they are interested in your thoughts and how you feel about what you read, here, perceive, etc. As a result, don’t feel compelled to write as though your are submitting a personal statement or an essay. This blog is you so find your voice and never fear the occasional rant or lovey dovey post. I love when I can actually hear the author’s voice in a post. This happens when they use slang, profanity, emotion, and lengthy descriptions. While some bloggers believe it’s important to be brief and get to the point, I actually love long posts because it gives me the chance to hear even more about what a blogger feels and things about a certain fictional character, book theme, or societal subject. So please be you and give that goo ‘ole middle finger to those who criticize your uniqueness!

Don’t be a blogging hermit. Be willing to comment, share, and meet others. The blogging community is a gift and I use it to my full advantage. By being social on the book blogging community, you receive amazing recommendations (who ever knew When Dimple Met Rishi was going to be that adorable?!?), occasional author requests, advice about blogging, and fun memes and tags to participate in which allow bloggers to know more about each other. While in real life, people tend to irritate me and, given that I’m a big mouth with no scruples, it’s hard for me to keep my comments to myself. And since there’s not many people I know who love to read you can guess that I don’t have as many friends – lol. What ‘evs! Here though – I’m just lovin it! I look forward to opening my laptop everyday to read my blogging buddies’ posts and hear about their life updates. So do it guys – you ain’t gonna regret it!

                    I recognize:

(You ain’t gotta do this if you’re already feelin’ swamped with life and blogging – I’m not here to create a mental breakdown in anyone’s life. It took me a pretty long time to decide who to nominate because I wanted to give it a lot of thought and recognize the bloggers whose blogs I’ve enjoyed so much and who I’ve been having lots of fun babbling with lately. And if you ain’t here, then consider yourself nominated anyway because I enjoy each and every blog that I follow, or else I wouldn’t follow *duh*)

Alex @ coffeeloving bookoholic
Noriko @ Diary of a Bookfiend
Steph @ Lost: Purple Quill 
Kristen @ Kristen Kraves Books
James @ This Is My Truth Now
Michenko @ ReadRantRock&Roll
Hannah @ peanutbutter&books
Mandy @ Book Princess Reviews
Bridget @ Bridget & Books
Kate @ Reading Through Infinity 

Yours Truly,

19 thoughts on “Blogger Recognition Award

  1. Loved reading how your blog came to be! When I graduated college I felt the same thing that you did (except with the film/tv industry). Hell, even now I second guess my abilities and everything that I do. I’m still on my way to figuring this whole job world out and I’ve been out for like 3 years now…It’s hard, but we both just have to tough it out. In my opinion, the people who make it are the ones who never stop trying.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. This comment made my day, thank you so much Becky.
      Yes both the industries we aspire to be a part of are intensely challenging and it’s hard not to feel overwhelmed at times. I definitely agree with you there – as long as we are trying good is bound to ultimately come our way. I wish you the best of luck in your career lovely! ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Thanks for tagging me! I love the story of how you made your blog, and I love how your mom had a part in it ❤ And I just want to say I love your style of writing and the way you flaunt your voice through your posts!! Your posts always stand out to me!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Ahhhh thank you so much for tagging; it means a lot!!! I looove reading your blog posts– they’re always so sassy and hilarious ❤

    I'm also a fan of longer posts because they really let the author's voice shine through– particularly when it's a rant. Rants are so fun. :')

    Also, your story was so REAL and inspirational. The book industry is CRAZY hard to break into, and I wish you the best of luck on your future ventures. But judging from all the effort and passion you put into your blog posts, I know you'll be able to accomplish whatever goal you set your mind to!! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. My pleasure Hannah! I put a lot of thought into who I wanted to recognize in this post and your blog has always stood out to me so voilá I nominated you haha.
      Oh dear I’m really big on ranting, once I get going its always super hard for me to stop.
      Right!?!?! Like, “come on people!” Books are like my world so it’s definitely discouraging at times, but then again I’m sure it’s like that for every industry. Thank you so much for your kind words! ❤ ❤

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Aww, I’m so honored!! ❤

        Oh goodness, me too– I have tend to ramble on ALL THE TIME, both in-person and in-text. I just don't know when to stop.

        Anyways, I'm certain you'll be very successful!! You'll reach your dream yet. 😀

        Liked by 1 person

  4. giiiirl, you’re my hero! you always make my day with your posts! lovett! thanks so much! 😘
    and your story! 😍 thanks for sharing! stay who you are and everything will be good! ❤️
    aaaand: WTF???? you’re going to see adam in the grove? are you kidding me? i was there four weeks ago! why couldn’t he have been there then! 😭😭😭 say hi from me to him! unfortunately germany is a bit far away! he should stol by here haha 😂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. #SMILESFORDAYS!!! Of course Alex! You’re literally one of the first bloggers that comes to mind when it comes to nominations because your blog is so unique and memorable it’s too hard NOT TO ABSOLUTELY ADORE!
      Yes! I’m sooooo soooo SOOOO excited. I was just in Barnes & Noble yesterday because I wanted to pick up his other titles, but unfortunately they’re out of stock at the moment *annoyed*. Ooooo you’re from Germany then?!?!? Wowowowow well aren’t you a luck bee! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. awww you’re amazing! thank you! 😘
        whaaaat? when i was there a couple weeks ago they had so many of his books! i bought a signed copy of “history is all you left me” 😍
        but they will come back, no worries! and you’ll see him soon! 🤗
        jepp, i live in berlin! i love it but i’d rather be living in the us or ireland 😂

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Exactly? I even asked an they said they would be having more shipment coming in soon, but I wanted it soooo bad lol. Oh well, at least I had an excuse to buy Eliza and Her Monsters which I have been meaning to read forever now!
        Wow! OMG that is soooo IDEAL! Haha, how can we forget our dear Ireland?!?! ❤

        Liked by 1 person

  5. Thank you for participating! This post made me smile so much. I loved seeing your story – Your mom sounds super awesome. And thank you for the kind words about me and my blog – They are so very appreciated!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

