The Sunshine Blogger Award | 3

Dear fellow Babblers,

I return for another round of cynical questionnaires, also know as Sunshine Blogger part 3 brought to you by our very own James @thisismytruthnow. Thank you James for this nomination and for all y’all who haven’t yet clicked on his page I shake my tail feathers at you in disgust – how dare you even read this very line without first visiting James blog! You call yourself a bibliophile? A book reviewer? A book blogger? Again, I look down on you with utter contempt. You are not a book anything until you have visited this blog for some of the best book recommendations, memes, tags, awards, and even some wonderfully creative stories written by the blogger himself! 

I will attempt to keep my babble brief and the tangents at a minimum today as I’m sure you all have learned and read as much as your bubbly little cheesy brains can handle by now. So lets get to it. I will repeat the purpose and rules yet again for my newbie readers who have probably ran away and thereafter unfollowed my page by now and then we will arrive to the sunshine questions!

Purpose:

In a nutshell: you’re a blogger, I’m a blogger, you appreciate me, I appreciate you, you nominate me, I nominate someone else and the process goes on. Yup. Yup. Now lets eat a cookie, shall we?

Rules:

  • Say “thanks” to your admirer… (Thanks again James!)
    Answer your admirers’ questions… (Play nice now children – again I ask for nothing freeky. This ain’t no XX-rated hormonally arousing teenage site we got goin on here)
  • Confess your admiration for 11 new bloggers by tagging them and linking to their pages
  • List rules (duh, I just did that) and paste that pretty little flower that attracted y’all to this page in the first place. (I mean, I know you ain’t here cause you like my slang and vulgarity so it’s got to be that romantic yellow forget-me-not, huh?)

James’ Questions:

  1. What are all your social media links?

Now, before I give y’all links to my life in all of its meaninglessness allow me to first say “I love social media!” There’s not many people in my everyday life that I can talk to about books and share my love for it. Whenever I even approach the topic of books my friends and family pretend to listen and be interested but I just know they’re waiting for the perfect opportunity for me to shut up so they can get on with their Grey’s Anatomy binge. Social media has given me an outlet to a global book comunity who understands the magical and enchanting quality of escaping into books. Well, anyway, I tend to ramble so here are my links and feel free to follow and connect with me! I look making new buddies to chit chat titles with!

Blog (no s***)
Instagram
Twitter
Facebook
Pinterest
Linkedin

  2. What is your blog about

Delphine’s Babble on Some Goodreads… can you take a hint? If you guessed makeup and fancy glam glam fashion please step away from your computer screen which seems to have interuppted the amount of blood flowing to your brain. My blog is about books books books hence “good reads.” Stylistically I tend to ramble in person as well as online so half the time most of the people I talk to never seem to be processing what I’m saying so they just stare at me politely in anticipation of the opportune moment they can run, run, run all the way to the bar. That being said, most of my bookish posts, even my reviews have that underling tone of rambling and random tangents. I like to call them babbles just cause it makes me feel better about my tendency to talk too much. I write reviews, occasionally participate in fun weekly memes and tags, as well as posts for nominations like this one. I’m hoping to soon start participating in blog tours but I’m still sort of new here so I don’t want to get too ahead of myself. When I first started my blog I thought I had the intention of writing reviews for all genres from historical nonfiction to contemporary adult in order to engage with more readers. However, as my blog continues to grow and my reading preferences shift I’ve quickly realized that Young Adult and occasionally adult contemporary is really where my interest and preference lies. As a result, most of the reviews one will find on my blog will be new releases and most talked about titles from the Young Adult genre.

3. What prompted the start of your blog?

…Whoops. I think I just kinda sorta answered this in the first question; ya know? The part where I started rambling on before giving y’all my social media links? I’m too much of a lazy potato this morning to copy and paste so if you would please use your pretty little manicured finger to scroll back up to the first question you will find that I started my blog because reality is a pigeon head and I want more buddies who like books just like me. What happened to the days where literature and art were highly valued and relished by each and every member of society no matter his or her social class? It’s becoming increasingly rare nowadays to find people that share the same aesthetic interest as I do. I used to have a blog that was about art criticism, but that didn’t last very long as the audience in that industry is very and I mean VERY narrow. As strange as this sounds my book blog has become a huge part of who I am and I’ve grown to love and feel a personal connection with each and every one of my buddies here in a way that I never have with anyone in real life. So thanks my lovelies !

4. What is your profession?

Well I graduated from UCLA back in June and I’m currently interning for a publishing company out in Inglewood. On the days I’m not interning I’m usually catching up with ARCs and my blog. I’m also currently studying for the freaking disgusting, pitiful, “why make me suffer” exam which is required in order to apply to most graduate programs here in the good ole US. I’ve been actively job searching for positions with publishing companies and, let’s just put it this way: HELP! Yup, that pretty much sums up my lovely little life at the moment. Jealous? No? Well, I wouldn’t be either.

          5. Where do you spend your free time?

I’m like a gypsy nomad who likes to go on extremely long walks under the blistering summer sun in flip flops so I guess I would say my free time is spend outdoors walking aimlessly all over Los Angeles? I’m also a coffee shop regular who fights for the comfiest chair in the furthest corner (yup, cause I’m antisocial like that), turn it so that it faces the window and away from the annoying teenagers pretending to study for AP exams, and read peacefully, black tea lemonade in hand.

6. Do you have any pets?

I could go on forever about my soulmate, Haruki. I named him after my favorite author, Haruki Murakami and this little señor fluff fluff is such a darling I don’t even know how I managed to keep my sanity without this little guy. I included several pictures of him below just cause he’s a camera slut and I’m his camera pimp.. so voila a piecemeal collage!

          7. What are your 1 and 3 year goals?

My one year goal kinda leads into my three year goal because my ultimate dream is to land a career in publishing. I know it doesn’t sound like much but I’ve loved books ever since I learned how to read and being able to make a career out of it would be a dream come true. My one year goal is to get accepted into a Digital Social Media graduate program and my three year goal is to land a career in publishing upon attaining my masters. I would also love to relocate to Europe. I earned one of my degrees in French language and culture so it would be wonderful to finally go to France and immerse myself completely in such a beautiful place that I’ve admired from far away for so long now.

But, then again, I also would like to relocate because I’m hoping to discover new things about myself and the world that Los Angeles doesn’t seem to offer me anymore. I’ve never been a huge fan of my current location and have often felt restricted and stuck in this bubble where no one really understands me and there’s not really anyone around to talk to. So moving far away to a new place and, in essence, starting over, has been on my mind for quite some time, I’m just not sure how to fuse that with my goals of working in publishing.

8. What part of the world do you live in?

I swear James, I’m like psychic here! I’m answering these questions before you even pose them! Los Angeles and I ain’t too proud of it! Take me somewhere, anywhere else PUH-LEESE!

      9. What TV shows do you watch?

I love social media but I abhor with a huge passion all aspects of television and rarely even watch Netflix despite my monthly subscription. Even if I try to watch a show or film the whole time all I’m thinking is “I could be reading. I would rather be reading. Why am I not reading?”

          10 Who has inspired you the most in your life?

It’s hard for me to choose someone who has inspired me because I have always felt, although I’m quite the chatterbox, distant from people so it’s always been hard for me to see the world and feel motivated by any one figure. I’ve always read as a form of escape and through my experiences as a reader I’ve grown attached to many authors and fictional characters. There has been lessons about love, age and even death that have been alluded to which have affected me greatly and thus has directly influenced and inspired many of the decisions that I have made and continue to make to this day.

          11. What is your favorite vacation spot?

I don’t think I’ve ever really been on a vacation so it’s hard to say. A few years ago I did go on a missionary trip to Nicaragua and quickly fell in love with the country. It was so raw and beautiful. It was natural with an abundance of kindness and love felt by all the locals. I would love to one day go back or hitchhike all through Central America as it is, a whole new and perhaps, more beautiful world than the one I perceive around me. But then again, the grass is always greener on the other side, right?

Nominees:

This is my third time being nominated for this award so I think it would be in my as well as all my victims’ best interest that I leave nominations open for anyone and everyone to participate. You, yes you, are my sunshine blogger whether your blog be about books, games, lifestyle, or religion because it’s your uniqueness and creative voice that give you light. Whoa, that was way too mellow dramatic, heavens I must have been an old farting male preacher two lives ago, as I stand by my belief that in my previous life I was a hooded rapper.

Questions about the real you: (Not the blog you so please remove the stick from your hiney and chillax)

  1. What do you normally eat for breakfast?
  2. Characterize yourself in three words (just three, don’t go all “me” happy here)
  3. Right brained or left brained?
  4. Harry Potter or Twilight?
  5. What sorts of movies do you like to watch, and if you don’t like movies what sort of books do you like to read, and if you don’t like to read pretend you do and just answer the question!?!?
  6. What is your preferred method of transportation?
  7. How do you typically spend the weekends?
  8. Do you enjoy your profession? If not then why and if you don’t like it please explain why the heck you’re still there.
  9. Favorite holiday?
  10. What three books from your shelf would you be darn happy to say “deuces!” to?
  11. How do you feel about loaning your books to someone?

Yours Truly,

Thanks once again to James for this stellar nomination and I hope I didn’t make y’all suffer too much in this post. I attempted to keep the rambling to a minimum not only for my readers but for my own sanity as I’m getting pretty irritated with writing about myself today as I woke up on the wrong side of the bed and all I really want to do is sit in the middle of the floor, close all the curtains, eat chocolate chip cookies by the dozen and pretend I’m a rockstar. Leave me a positive babble below and lets wallow in this pessimistic day together shall we, or we could just babble on books, that’s always an attractive option…

19 thoughts on “The Sunshine Blogger Award | 3

  1. OMG reading your answers really made me laugh! 😂 you are my hero!
    and haruki is like the cutest ever!!! 😻😻😻
    i hope you can fulfill your dream and relocate. europe is pretty great 😏 and i don’t blame you wanting to leave LA 😂 (ups, did i say that? 🙈😂)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hahah – aww thank you so much! I’m so glad you enjoyed, I really try not to bore the heck out of my readers since I do tend to post a lot since there’s no one to shut me up ahah.
      Isn’t he precious! This little guy is my true soulmate I swear! ❤ ❤ ❤
      Thank you so much I've been like itching to get out of LA for the longest now! London or Scotland just sounds sooooooo wonderful!
      🙂 (lol no worries! I totally agree witcha on that one!)

      Liked by 1 person

      1. i totally enjoyed it! please don’t stop! i love to read your posts 😍
        i know how you feel! i love my two kitties to death! 😻
        that sounds great! you should also think about ireland! that’s the best country ever! ☘️❤️

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Nope – definitely not in my upcoming plans! I love being able to talk incessantly and people actually read, unlike in real life where people just stare at me with that zoned out look in their eye.
        OMG yes!!! Thank you for reminding me! I must look into the university college of Dublin – I’ve heard excellent things about the school! ❤ ❤ 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Phew, got thru it all. Only to read the last paragraph where you tell us to pretend you’re a rock star. Pretend? But you are based on all this… let’s see… where to start with the comments:

    Haruki is adorable. Definite camera slut, can see that from all the way in NYC.

    Speaking of being LA (in my mind it was similar)… how the <> do you walk around in the sun and like it? I die every time the temperature goes a degree above 60. I’m in a permanent 9th ring of Inferno this summer.

    That was THE BEST intro I’ve ever had… holy <>. Thank you for those amazing and hilarious words. Totally appreciate it.

    Hmm… publishing seems like the right fit for you. I will tell the universe (who often fails to listen to me) to make this happen.

    Apparently my questions were just in tune with your answers, otherwise I don’t know what the hell we would have been reading from you. It might have been the biggest disconnect since the creator of the GRE and your interest in getting into grad school. Apparently that test is awful. I took it several years ago, but don’t remember a thing.

    I’ll stop here so I don’t take up the whole comments page. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hahah – no if only, I possibly was a rapper in another life but in this one I don’t seem to get past the occasional Friday night karaoke debacle.

      Thank you! I literally spend like hours each day trying to get him to just stand in one place so I can snap endless pics of him. It’s a struggle at times since all he ever wants to do is cuddle or eat.

      Oh my goodness no! 60 is much too cold for me, I would have to wear a parka and snow shoes all year round! I’m horrible in the cold I must have summer all year round or else all I’ll do is complain.

      You’re welcome – I meant every word. You’re like a celebrity on social media! For reallzzzzzzz!!!!

      Can you puh-leese carry over those words to Penguin because they don’t seem to agree – lol, I’m beginning to get used to rejections at this point.

      Ugh can I just be you? I just hate studying like absolutely hate with absolute passion I’ve been trying to find grad programs that don’t require that you submit a GRE score for this very reason (just goes to show my lack of motivation haha). 😀

      Thank you for your wonderful comment James!!! 😀 😀 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. #11 – I’m happy to loan out any book, as long as I’ve read it once. Since I usually have a few books lying around that I haven’t even cracked, I get nervous when someone wants to read it before I do. I don’t know why. Guess I’m just a weirdo.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Luck you! I’m a huge stickler about loaning books out because if it comes back damaged I’ll be heartbroken for the next month!
      Haha – well that makes two of us; if I was to loan out a book it could not be one that I haven’t read yet because I would want to be the lucky one to experience each of its pages.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you – haha, after a while I’m deeply annoying – half the time people look at me like I just walked onto earth from a whole other universe whose slang is incomprehensible.
      Yay! I’m looking forward to your answers. ❤

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

