The Sunshine Blogger Award | 1

sunshine

Dear fellow Babblers,

Jee golly whoot whoot! Two months blogging and I’m hauling mules through these awards. I’m sure y’all are pretty down in the dumps bored about falling into the nitty gritty about my meaninglessly banal life, but, I mean, complain to my fellow babbling nominators!

horray.gif

To express the happiness I feel this time around allow us to compare it to a bright fart of sunlight shining upon my frizzy head of curly hair as I skip through meadows of rainbows and daisies…. Thank you so much to my pretty chica Melanie over at MNBernardBooks for nominating me for the Sunshine Blogger Award – I”m definitely feelin’ the warmth of our toasty summer here now! Don’t be a lazy tushy and breeze through this post without visiting Melanie’s blog for some of the best book reviews and even writing that the infinite blogosphere has to offer… and you’re welcome fellow bloggers for my introducing you to her amazing site. 

Ugh… More Rules… Okay, what is it this time around:

  • Thank your nominator (check) and link back to their blog (no, duh)
  • Answer the biographical 11 questions your nominator decides to pose
  • Do the same by nominating 11 bloggers whom you adore (or are jelly of) and use the strength left in your giganto imagination to ask 11 new questions (nothing freaky please – you know what I’m talking about )
  • List the rules (another check for meh) and pass the Sunshine Blogger Award onto your blog (see that pretty yellow flower thang up above? Yup -das it! Btw kiddos, these ain’t typos, I’m just too cool to write in standardized English)

Questions: (oh goodie goodie gum drop, more of Delphine’s narcissism)

          1. What is your biggest bookish pet peeve?

Is this question open for interpretation? Because I’m thinking ‘bookish pet peeve’ more along the lines of the bookish habits us readers have such as spilling food in our books…? Either way, my answer so my interpretation! I would have to say that I’m extremely anal (excuse my inappropriate slanders for them non-90s bloggers) about books whose cover is a freaking image of the movie adaptation. Like, really? How unoriginal can these publicists be!? So unnecessary and it does not, in any way, shape, or form encourage me to read the book. If anything, it makes me want to run in the direction to the safety of them unrecognizable indie title who are overlooked in the Hollywood world.

  2, What’s one non-bookish fact your readers don’t know about you?

I speak complete and fluent SARCASM. I’m not sure if y’all have gotten that from my posts, but I literally have the driest sense of humor that the divine spirits (whomever they may be) have created. I’ll laugh at random slurs and rude remarks that others may find offensive or rude. It’s often difficult for even my friends, mom, and sister to distinguish whether or not I’m serious at any given moment or simply causing them to have an unnecessary panic attack.

          3. What’s your favorite habit besides reading?

I love taking long walks and running early in the morning when the rest of the world is still sleeping soundly in their Tempur-Pedic mattresses. It’s a wonderful opportunity for me to not only get my workout in, but to really reflect on my life and what decisions I need to make to make it that much closer to my dreams. It always feels good to get the legs energized in the fresh air before a day of blogging, reading and reviewing alongside my fellow peeps all over social media!

  4. Have you ever watched a movie/tv adaptation that was better than the book?

I would never favor a movie adaptation over a book because, in the end of the day, the movie never would have existed without the original author’s imagination. Tim Burton’s Alice in Wonderland came pretty darn close, but I always prefer to read over watching movies. I feel as though movies just gives viewers too much and decides everything for them without an opportunity to process what the viewer is seeing. Very little imagination and interpretation is required when watching a movie, while reading is all about these two elements.

  5. What one book do you absolutely love that’s out of your normal reading genre?

I’ve been exploring lots of new genres these past few months since I’ve graduated, having lots more to read what I want. Even so, I’m still not much of a poetry reader – it just demands a more patient sort of reader, I guess. However, this year I’ve had the pleasure of discovering Lang Leav, a contemporary poet whose published four works of poetry – Memories, Lullabies, Love & Misadventure, and The Universe of Us – and one novel – Sad Girls (check out my review here). I fell in love immediately with Memories at a time in my life that I was questioning all my worth, capabilities, and even the meaning of my life altogether. I was feeling nostalgic for a period in my life that is, now, long gone. This collection is raw and dense in evocative description. It addresses all kinds of love and the pain that is attached with losing who we love, or who we think we love.

  6. If you got to pick which apocalypse you had to face, which type of apocalypse would you choose? (zombie, nuclear, etc.)

I’m a big baby and, though big, babies don’t do apocalypses. However, I hate avoiding the question so can I say a doughnut apocalypse? One where I am the only human left in the world and I am left with a land filled with different flavored doughnuts, all belonging to moi for however long this “disaster” lasts…?

 7. If you had a familiar, what animal would your familiar be? 

Foxes because I’m foxayyyyy (*ratchet hair flip*)

floxy.gif

8. How big is your TBR?

I knew I would have to face this at one point or another… I refuse to count how many books lie in my TBR pile because it is seriously that big and continues to grow, thanks to all the recommendations that I receive every single day on social media. I really wish I could get to each and every book on my TBR, as there’s so many fictional universes that I have yet to explore, but there’s also life that’s gotta be handled here!

9. If you were in a story, would you be the villain or the hero?

The hero. It always seems like the villain dies a morbidly gruesome death in the end and I ain’t about that life thank you mucho.

10. What was your favorite childhood TV show?

I am a proudly born reader. Therefore, I rarely watched TV growing up – maybe because the rest of my family is addicted to television and I never had much choice on watching anything anyway. Come christmas time and I was all about ABC family and watching the old christmas classics like Frosty the Snowman, Santa Claus is Comin to Town and Rudolph the Red Nosed Reindeer. Other than that brief period of bumming it in front of the couch, I was never one to be seen rushing home from school to sit in front of the television set.

11. What one aesthetic would you say is representative of who you are? (floral, bright, lace, boho, etc.)

I’m not sure if there’s a style to describe me. What would you call one who wheres dresses all year round with platform sneakers?

I Nominate (because I love you!):

Tina @readingbetweenthepages
Naty @natysbookshelf
Lauren @wonderlessreviews
Lois @mymidnightmusing
Flavia @flaviathebibliophile
Deana @deanawritesabout
Em @keystrokeblog
Rimpy @rimpyreads
Lauren @commahangover
Candace @bookaddicthaven
Sandra @readingthroughthenights

Tell me (because I love knowing more about the human behind the blogger!):

  1. What top 3 songs (please provide links) do you feel describes your life in a nutshell
  2. When you go to your local cafe on a Saturday afternoon with a date, what do you order?
  3. When books are being incessantly talked about all over social media (i.e. When Dimple Met Rishi, Strange the Dreamer, The Hate U Give) do you feel obligated to read it, even if it is not your typical reading genre?
  4. You get home from work/school. What is your typical routine like?
  5. Tell me a secret! ( I pinky promise I won’t blabber it off to anyone!)
  6. Besides being a book addict what other hobbies define and direct your life? (don’t lie, we all know, as book bloggers, that books have come to define us)
  7. What’s your favorite classic novel and why?
  8. How do you feel about ‘assigned reading’ in the education system? (be brief, one could go on forever here)
  9. What’s your favorite season and why?If you could live in any fictional universe
  10. which would it be?
  11. If you could control any element (fire, water, air, etc) which would it be?

Yours Truly, 

cropped-delphine-5

Well that’s all folks, hope you had a thrill reading about the questionable ups (cause there ain’t now downs here buttercup!) about my life!

39 thoughts on “The Sunshine Blogger Award | 1

  1. You’re hilarious. I swear I get a few good laughs out of every post. I thought I would enjoy being the villain in the story, but forgot about the deaths. I’m not bout it either. “What would you call one who wheres dresses all year round with platform sneakers?” I can’t. I need the crying laughing emoji right now.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha – I’ve done scientific research on storyworld villains and they all seem to die pretty gruesome deaths or undergo radically bloody transformations that never end well so I think it’s best to just remain the cheesy hero.
      Lol, for real though! Is that like a whole nother fashion trend all together that I’m setting up without even realizing it!!! 😮

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I just remember I found your site months ago before I went on a hiatus. Crazy that I specifically remember when I found you; definitely a great blogger. Just had to say that. Heroes are the way to go then. You may be on to something actually 😀

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Really? My blog has only been up for 2 months so maybe you’re confusing me with another blogger? But either way, I’ll take the compliment and run -haha! Thanks so much, likewise.
        Lol – I definitely should hope so, I’ve been entertaining this idea in my head for a quite a while now! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      3. I swear I remember your writing style. I hope I’m not wrong, but you already ran anyway lol. Maybe it’s one of those things that you remember and it didn’t happen yet. Happens, especially with me.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Omg this is hilarious. If you ever write a book can it please be about the donut apocalypse? Maybe have Homer Simpson make a cameo and it can rain glaze from the sky. These are ideas I’m giving you for free!!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Thank you so much for the tag! Your questions look awesome! I have I think one more nomination in the queue before you, so you may not see my answers for a few weeks, but I will link back when I do.

    Your doughnut apocalypse doesn’t sound like a bad way for the world to end. Of course, in the back of my mind I am screaming “DIABETES!” because I come from a family that has some high blood sugar issues!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Michenko! 🙂
      Exactly, plus its just about the only sport (cross country) that I could do in high school given that I had a fear of getting whacked in the face by a ball or tennis racket lol.

      Like

  4. I laughed so hard at your answer to the apocalypse and familiar question 😂 So good! I also refuse to count how many books are on my TBR. Let’s not even go there.

    Thanks so much for the nomination ♥ I’ve done this one already, but I really love your questions so I might have to consider doing it again, haha!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha – seriously though! Wouldn’t a doughnut apocalypse be more like a miracle?!?!?! Endless jelly and sprinkled doughnuts year round with none of that guilt nonsense.

      Heavens, social media has been a nightmare for my TBR as all I do is talk about books so naturally I get recommendations every single day and they all end up on my TBR – not to mention all the pretty new covers that I find at B&N every weekend.

      My pleasure. Well either way, I love reading your posts – they are always a delight and being able to communicate with other avid readers is such a lifesaver! ❤

      Like

Leave a Reply

