The Unique Blogger Award

Dear fellow Babblers,

It’s Monday. Y’all I’m guessing are feining a cough so you can avoid walking into a drab ole office or playing hookie from Summer school to go bum it at the mall. As a full time blogger, part time cat pervert I am free from either pointless obligation. Instead, I get to position my tushy alongside my cat and babble to y’all about how dysfunctional I am. You can thank my buddy Alex over at coffeelovingbookaholic this time, as she nominated me for The Unique Blogger Award… I’m pretty sure unique is just a cinammon and sugar way of saying psychotic, but we’ll leave all critical interpretations out for the moment. Please give his blog a whirl for some fantabulous book recommendations; and bookish thoughts about all things BOOKISH! Salut to the bibliophiles of the digitally compressed 21st century! 

Rules (likely that I’ll butcher as always)

  • Respond to the questions without adopting a contradictory identity (in bimbo: don’t detour from who you are!)
  • Tag fellow babblers who you find “unique”
  • Don’t post until you link back to your tagger
  • Ask your peeps three questions

Questions (Who dat babbler?)

1. If you could only read one book for the rest of your life, which one would it be?

The Goldfinch by Donna Tartt. And why, might my fellow babblers ask? Because that think is over 700 pages long! Ain’t no one about to get sick of reading a masterpiece that takes days, if not weeks to finish! The novel takes place in a span of about twenty years and tells the tale of a young boy, Theo, who loses his artsy fartsy, aesthetically hypnotic mama in a bombing at a museum in New York. He becomes infatuated with a small painting, the Goldfinch that he saves from the fire but never returns to the museum for any reason other than his simple curiosity. The rest of the novel explores the many secondary characters and events that surround Theo’s struggle to preserve this painting while remaining hidden from authorities. Tartt’s descriptive language and surreal treatment of the characters and multiple climax’s of her novel renders it action packed; full of adventure and diverse issues, such as drugs and underground crime, that few novels that I have read before, have managed to master successfully.
the goldfinch

  2. What’s your favorite reading spot and why? (insert pic)

That’s a really hard question to ask a bibliophile who literally spends her life wasting away behind the printed words and idealized words of authors. I’m definitely a café regular, but even my local coffeeshop where I spend my days often changes with my mood as the seasons where on. Bricks & Scones in the Larchmont district in Los Angeles is, however, my ideal reading space. It’s both cozy and quaint, with little distractions, as many people often hideout here to read, draw, study, or simple breathe in the sunlit rays of beautifully dusty and overpopulated Los Angeles (sorry, had to be a buzz kill).
bricks and scones.jpg

  3. What’s your most bookish habit ?

I buy books like it’s nobody’s business. Not a week goes by that you won’t find me at Barnes & Noble or The Last Bookstore roaming through each and every aisle picking out recommendations that I’ve received from my fellow blogging buddies as well as new, pretty collections that intrigue me in the spur of the moment, I’m at the point now that I have an apartment brimming with books and if this addiction continues for much longer I feel I will drown in the very pages. But hey, don’t we all love the feeling of losing ourselves in books? I mean, that’s why we read, or is that just me being a hopeless romantic?
bookworm

The Chosen 8 – I commend you for your uniqueness, in the most positive, non psychotic way:

Noriko @diaryofabookfiend
Kathy @booksandmunches
Raven @dreamyaddictions
Evelina @avalinahsbooks
Agnes @agnesmack
Sophie @sophiescorner
Jordz @jordzthebibliophile
Emma @bookaroundthecorner

Questions for mah peeps: 

1. Who are you, besides an avid bibliophile?
2. Briefly describe your recipe for the ideal life (question open for interpretation).
3. Who is your favorite author of 2017 and why?

Yours Truly,

cropped-delphine-5

Reject should you wish, but I sincerely hope my nominees enjoy these questions and never let go of their blogging flair, as each and every blogger out there is an individual by his or her written voice.

 

31 thoughts on “The Unique Blogger Award

      1. I read all three of her books and for most people, The Secret History is her best, but I really loved The Goldfinch because of its length and the way in which Tartt explores so many different worlds.
        The Little Friend is pretty good too! It kinda reminded me of Tom Sawyer and To Kill a Mockingbird – had that sort of southern tone to it.

        Liked by 1 person

  1. Congratulations, Delphine! The cafe looks sooo pretty and cozy! I wish I were lived in the US… thanks for the nomination! I’ll definitely work on that this week!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

