The Liebster Award

Dear fellow babblers,

A big ‘ole hug and thank you to Steph at Lost: Purple Quill for nominating me for The Liebster Award. She has officially become the lifesaver to my Friday blog post. I woke up early this morning to go on my usual three hour hike. I like to use the time to come up with new, quirky and fun blog posts to keep you fellow readers awake and on board with my daily ramblings. This morning, however, no matter how hard I racked my brain to come up with something unique to write about, besides participating in yet another weekly meme, I could NOT for the love of Pete and Sue (lol idk) come up with anything! I mean, bookish ideas and topics sure, but I didn’t have much to say about them. Book covers? Reading nooks? Reading habits? Book preferences? Sure, all those are great ideas, but have just become completely and utterly exhausted… Hmm… 

Any-whooz-it… I finally, under the sizzling midmorning sun and, after a lengthy shower and endless doughnut binge (yes, I do eat doughnuts after a three hour hikes – no judging my jelly-filled yum yum!) I logged onto my blog to catch up on some comments and sure enough I’ve been tagged! Yeeee buddy, *phew* that was a close one – y’all almost managed to escape my babbles! If you have not yet wandered through Lost Purple Quill’s site make sure to do so – it’s absolutely charming! And while you’re at it, check out her evocative poetry and lovely photography (my personal favorites are found mostly amongst the nature scenes) – this gal’s all over the artistic map, I tell ya!

relief

          1. Thank the person who nominated you and link their blog
                    2.  Answer the 11 questions the person asked you –

(i) If you could only wear one color for the rest of your life, what would it be?

White, and none of that “white isn’t a color Delphine, it’s a shade,” business. White goes with absolutely anything and looks fresh no matter what the season, and, in my opinion, looks elegant and compliments all skin tones.

(ii) What’s your favorite kind of weather?

Spring! Let the sunshine pour in, the honeysuckles blossom, the bees buzz, and the booty shorts make a comeback!

(iii) What is your ideal place to read?

My reading spots usually change with the season. Yet, ever since I got my kitten in January my apartment has become my favorite reading spot, just because I have Haruki there to snuggle up with. I used to play instrumental music as I read, but now that I have Haruki, his purring and the car traffic going one outside my window is enough of a melody to make my apartment the perfect and ideal reading abode.

(iv) What’s your favorite candy?

I’m not all that big on chocolate, which is probably a good thing… So that doesn’t leave many options left. There’s gumdrops and skittle? Nope, they get stuck in my teeth. How about gummy worms or life savers? Neh, too sugary. Hard candy? Hell no! I ain’t no granny to suck on caramel all day! So then what? Licorice – I’m an old fashioned chick, what can I say?

licorice

 

(v) If you could bring a mythological creature to life, what would it be?

I’m not all that big on those shenanigans. Does that mean I can skip this question. No? Too bad… Onward we go!

(vi) If you could have dinner with an author, who would it be?

HARUKI MURAKAMI! Table for two at the sushi buffet down the street and hold the soy sauce!

haruki

(vii) If you could have dinner with a book character, who would it be?

I would choose Merricat from We Have Always Lived in this Castle, but I’m a little too scared Merricat will add poison to the sugar bowl at the dinner table while I’m not looking, and I’ll die…Maybe the Hatter from Alice in Wonderland will be a safer choice… I’m always up for some tea and cake and renaming it Din Din.

mad hatter

(viii) If you were famous for something, what would you like it to be?

I know publishers can’t really be famous, but among the book community publishers are really the ones behind the whole enterprise of putting authors works up on the market. My dream since I was little has been to work for a big publishing company (*PLEASE take me Penguin!*). I would love to have the chance to gain a name for myself within the book industry as a notable publisher.

(ix) Do you have any pets?

All true bibliophiles are obligated, under the ordinance of Delphine, the babbler, to own a cat! I have one kitten Haruki, who will be turning one in December. He is the love of my life and now that I have him, I can’t even imagine how I survived the past 21 years of my life without him – he’s an absolute darling – aside from my books and shoe obsession, he is really all the love I have.

IMG_0361.jpg

(x) What is your favorite mode of transportation?

Walking. I get nauseous just riding five minutes in a car so using my legs to get across town is really my only option.

(xi) What is your favorite book genre?

I’ve gone through this whole reading metamorphosis this year. 2017 has definitely thus far been an amazing year for me in term of my bookish life. I’ve discovered several new authors – Haruki Murakami, Donna Tartt and Lang Leav- as well as quite a few older ones – Shirley Jackson, Agatha Christie and Roald Dahl. As a result, it’s become harder and harder for me to single out any one type of read that I can call my “favorite”. I’ve read several of Murakami’s short stories, all which I found in the Adult Fiction genre at Barnes & Noble, but the vanishing elephants, seductive women, and talking cats render them fantasy, with a hinge of surrealism as well. And then there’s Christie’s works which, as we all know, fall into the mystery genre. I really can’t choose any one genre. However, I used to be a bit skeptical about Young Adult for obvious reasons – cheesy romance and “happy ever after” endings, but I’ve nonetheless found myself reading more and more from the genre. I’ve recently read Sad Girls (review found here) and am almost done with When Dimple Met Rishi and , despite some typical cliches here and there, I’m absolutely pleased with the way in which these authors described their characters and events…. So long babble short: I LOVE IT ALL!

  3. Nominate 11 people (comment on their blog to let them know)

Hmm… I’m still fairly new to the book blogging community so how about we meet each other halfway by tagging a couple and leaving the rest open to whoever wants to join in the fun?

Diana Prince Reviews / Novel Deelights / Never Not Reading / Bookish Endeavors

4. Ask the people you have nominated 11 questions
1. Why do you blog?
2. What’s you favorite time of the day, and whyyyyyy, no one-worders!?
3. If you could live in any story which would it be?
4. What’s the “weirdest” reading habit you have?
5. What’s your 3 favorite books so far of 2017?
6. What else do you do with your life besides reading, blogging, eating, and repeating?
7. What’s your favorite book-to-movie adaptation?
8. If you could travel anywhere in the world, where would you go and with whom?
9. If you had to be locked in a closet for 72 hours with one fictional character who would it be?
10. What was your childhood dream?
11. What’s your typical day-to-day outfit?

Yours Truly,
cropped-delphine-5

Happy babbling to all my fellow readers out there. I look forward to reading your response posts soon! BOO-YAHHH.

(Image credits go to Google)

27 thoughts on “The Liebster Award

  1. Aw, pets always make life better. My dog is my reading buddy and she is fine company. I really don’t know how I ever functioned without her which may not be so rational, but it’s hard to describe the way you feel about a close pet to those who don’t have one. I’ve been meaning to try out Haruki Murakami. Have a recommendation for a first time reading?
    Also, those doughnuts sound completely deserved.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That’s exactly how I feel now. I spent the last weekend at my parents home and I left my cat at home. The entire time all I could do was regret not missing him – it’s amazing how close we get to pets, you’re definitely right.
      My first Murakami was Kafka on the Shore and it remains my favorite. His writing is effortlessly surreal and magical. I hope you enjoy!
      Haha – tell that to my expanded waistline. :/

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

