Top 5 Tuesday – Short Babble on Some Longgg Reads

Dear fellow Babblers,

Please allow a special pause, moment of appreciation, kiss-blow, obnoxious holla for our fellow Americans out there… HAPPY 4TH OF JULY! Now, I’m usually not one to go out of my way on holidays – hence I’m sitting at home with the usual – little man, Haruki, iced lemon black tea, with my MAC typing up these very babbles that Señorita Delphine is ever so grateful to entertain you with. However, given all the controversy that has been going on here in the states (lets leave it at that shall we, *ahem, ahem, GET OUT THE WHITE HOUSE TRUMP!* ?), I figured it to be especially important to give a shout out to my fellow Americans out there who have, yes, the corny is coming: “Live the American Dream…”.

4th of july

Now down to the juicy stuff (that phrase can be taken in all the wrong ways *eek*): bookish memes!

Today I will be providing all y’all with a short babble on my Top 5 Long Reads which is a weekly meme hosted by the ever-exuberant Bionic Book Worm. A new book talk/discussion is introduced each week and, given my love for long novels, I felt this to be the perfecto chance for me to live the American Dream – LOL, well at least my American Dream: clamping my endless jabberings shut and getting to the point!

1. The Goldfinch, Donna Tartt
  770 Pages

the goldfinch

Best quasi-800 pages I have read in my LIFE! Alongside Mr. Murakami (can’t choose who I love more, so lets make them equals, shall we?) Tartt is my absolute favorite author of 2017. The musings on art and maternal love, as well as the multiple avenues of life over a span of the protagonist, Theo Decker’s adolescence reminds me a lot of Proust (in a good way, love À la recherche de temps perdu!). I read this book page-by -page, cover-to-cover in about three days during finals weeks in University. I read it, in my opinion, a bit to hastily just because it was THAT good. I really want to reread it, but I will only allow myself such a pleasure the day that I finally make a slight dent into my ever-increasing TBR pile. (Full musing on The Goldfinch can be found here)

    2. The Little Friend, Donna Tartt
                    624 Pages

the little friend

Tartt sacrificed a lot of plot here for the sake of description, offering the reader a completed panorama of her southern hometown, Alexandria, Mississippi. The premise of the novel surrounds a young boy, Robin, who is found hanging from a tree in his backyard, dead. Twelve years later Robin’s younger sister, Harriet sets about to uncover the truth of Robin’s murder and take her revenge. The novel switches between focalizers unnecessarily which I found confused much of my reading experience as I was constantly caused to pause and think, trying to make sense of what was going.
I mean, the imagery and Tartt’s descriptions of events, plot, and setting are so beautifully illustrated – I only wish she had concerned herself a bit more with drawing more connections between description and happenings. (For more on The Little Friend check out more of my review here)

3. I Am a Cat, Natsume Sōseki
                    638 Pages

i am a cat

A whole 638 pages, 3 complete volumes…all told from the perspective of a nameless cat?!?! SOLD to the chick with the frizzy locks and countless tattoos (muah). I can see how this book would be a bit banal for those who are perhaps used to the light-heartedness and quick narration characteristic of YA, for example. I, myself love YA for its accessibility and singularity. I read I Am a Cat quite a few months ago and I particularly loved it exactly for its density and moving descriptions that I’ve found to be on a decrease in the YA genre. In essence, this classic is a satire, with a cat who remains nameless and is taken in reluctantly by a Japanese schoolteacher and his family. The cat makes all such sort of musings and has numerous meditations and criticisms regarding humans, and our unnecessarily stressful and artificial lives.

  4. David Copperfield, Charles Dickens
                    974 Pages

david copperfield

*Phew* Talk about a trek, huh? The longest of Dickens, novels and the most reflective of the english writers life in the nineteenth century. Many find it to be too heavy in terms of language with not enough description, but, come on now, it’s DICKENS! Behind Great Expectations, David Copperfield remains my favorite of Dicken’s works. I always enjoy when writers begin their narratives during the protagonist’s adolescence and move through slowly, with heavy detail, an entire span of the protagonist’s life, demonstrating the change, corruption and toll that life has had on them.

5. Paris, Edward Rutherfurd
                    809 Pages

paris

Probably one of the few historical novels that I don’t mind reading again. Rutherfurd provides readers with a portrait of Paris from the days of its ruins through it’s clasp of the Industrial Revolution leading to its magnificence, signified by the building of the Eiffel Tower. This epic is filled with suspense, romance and historical verifiability that presents to readers the events, in sequence, which have made Paris the city of lights.

TBR:

Because I love Murakami…

       IQ84, Haruki Murakami
                 929 Pages

iq84

I’ve read several of Murakami’s novels and short stories, but this is the first of his works that I actually purchased, but have not yet read. And why such an illogical action on my part? This book is almost a freaking 1000 pages. Yes, I do love big books (and I cannot lieeee), but this is definitely a risk and commitment I am not sure I yet want to fall into…

Well, I’m currently reading When Dimple Met Rishi. I’m on the part where it’s totally evident there is a romantic chemistry between Rishi and Dimple, despite Dimple failing to admit it and Rishi’s continuous clumsiness. A brutally honest review of Dear Mr. M is on it’s way fellow Koch debaters.

Yours Truly,

cropped-delphine-5

What’s the longest book you’ve read? Gimme some recommendations – I love big books and I cannot lie!

(Image credits go to Google)

14 thoughts on “Top 5 Tuesday – Short Babble on Some Longgg Reads

    1. Oh wow! Really?! Ouch, I’m sorry to hear that. I’ve noticed that most people like The Secret History a lot more, maybe you’ll have better luck there.
      I personally loved The Goldfinch so much because of the artistic way Tartt describes each of the characters and illustrates their lives across almost 20 years so vividly.

      Like

  1. The longest book I’ve ever read is Harry Potter and the Order of the Pheonix haha! Although I do LOVE Markus Zusak and his books tend to be quite long – besides The Book Thief, I Am the Messenger is also amazing!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh yes! I forgot all about Harry Potter! That’s actually my favorite of the series, along with The Socerer’s Stone (probably cause Harry’s so cute). I’ve heard such good things about The Book Thief – I look forward to eventuallyyyyyy reading it. 🙂

      Like

  2. I thought “Gone With the Wind” by Margaret Mitchell would be my longest…but Stephen King’s “The Dark Tower” clocked in at 17 pages more! I actually had to look it up! Although I’ve been meaning to read Elizabeth Kostava’s “The Historian” for ages….

    Also to chime in on one of the comments above… “The Book Thief” is incredible.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sadly, I still have yet to read Gone With the Wind, even though it seems to be on the tope of everyone’s list.
      OMG I’ve read amazing things about The Book Thief and bought the book a couple months ago and it’s still sitting in my TBR pile *yikes*.

      Like

Leave a Reply

