Babble To Señorita Babbler About Whatcha Reading On This Monday

Dear fellow Babblers,

Wake Up. Sound the alarm. Put your overalls on. Don’t forget Señor Bus Pass and Señorita House Keys. And lezzz-gooowww…. It’s Monday y’all! Get your cozy little tushy outta bed and out into friendly and dusty ‘ole reality!

white rabbit alice in wonderland.gif

Oh yeah – don’t forget to air me a big smoochie kiss down below ! Wait… whah?! ?!
Das Right – Señorita Babbler – or shall we call her lazy bikini bottoms – has used her America, the Beautiful as an excuse to call off work an cuddle up with her furry little man, Haruki and dive in on her July TBR.

IMG_2363
Say “Bonjour” Señor Lazy Love-Bug, Haruki ! 

So while you, my dearest fellow book-a-freaks are ringing up customers at the grocery store, pretending to listen to your smelly breath calculus professor train you on the derivatives of the evil tangent line – whatever is keeping you from gravitating from reality into the fiction world – I am here with, no, not more Murakami, at least not yet – on the TBR though (for my full July TBR visit my last post here)! I’ve been so excited about my reading plan for the month that choosing where to start proved to be the hardest part. So what more appropriate an occasion to utilize the good ‘ole ‘Eenie-meenie-minie-mow’?

*30 seconds later*…When Dimple Met Rishi.

when dimple met rishi

Okay, so ever since I graduated, barely two weeks ago, I’ve been trying to get back into the Young Adult genre, as I’ve noticed its been making a huge comeback – for my fellow YA book bloggers out there please tell me you know what I’m talking about! So, just cause I wanna be part of the Koolio Book Group (I swear, if such a thing exists please tell me – I wanna be the clique leader!) I’ve decided to go against my preconceived notions that YA is just a bunch of unrealistic mumbo jumbo about hormonal teenagers, and totally re-immerse myself into the genre. Reading the inside flap of When Dimple Met Rishi, it does seem to fit into the typical coming-of-age book about a boy and a girl, both straight out of high school, gravitating towards each other and by the end of the summer, falling in love despite their brutal attempts not to. However, even though I’ve only spent the last 2 hours with Menon’s book and took babbling breaks for lemonade with Haruki in between, I’m absolutely charmed by the narrative voice thus far!

In essence, the premise surrounds a high school graduate from a traditional Indian family living in Fresno, Dimple, who spends her summer before beginning her college career at Stanford at Insomnia Con. Initially, Dimple is shocked that her parents are even letting her go to this summer web designing program in San Francisco, as her mom’s number one ambition in this part of her life is to Dimple an IIH – Ideal Indian Husband.
Barely 15 minutes following her arrival on campus, a creepy, yet tolerably attractive Indian boy walks up to Dimple and says “Hello future wife, I can’t wait to get started on the rest of our lives!” And from there Dimple does the unspeakable: chucks her Starbucks iced coffee right at Rishi… LOL! You get ’em Dimple!

I already love this girl and want to make her by girlfriend forever and always – talk about fierce! Following a lengthy discussion with her papa, Dimple forgives her parents for this trap they set. And what’s the trap? For Dimple and Rishi to meet at Insomnia Con and fall in love, eventually get married and lead the traditional Indian life… Yup, from the point of the coffee incident… ain’t gonna happen so easily.As the novel progresses and Dimple inescapably ends up paired with Rishi for the big Insomnia Con project, it seems as though the barriers between these two kiddos seems to slowly be breaking.

This novel feels as though it’s going to be a quick read and I’m already feeling carried away from the dark days of my June-Gloom Reading Slump and into happy, sizzling July reading. Yeeeeee Buddy! *happy dance*

cat happy dance

I’m definitely liking the alternation of focalizers as we get to see the perspective of this arranged marriage situations from the eyes of modern and quirky Dimple as well as that from traditional and loyal-to-the-fam bam Rishi. Now allow me to step away from the digital world and back to my reading my dear babblers… Oh wait, almost forgot: for those of you waiting on my review of my recent read, Dear, Mr. M: Have no fear! I will not make you wait on Wednesday! It shall come; just know that if you’re debating whether or not to read, I will say PUT THAT DOWN RIGHT NOW! If you must, must have some Herman Koch in your life then I much would much rather you pick up The Dinner instead. But enough; more of that on Wednesday so stay tuned!

Yours Truly,

cropped-delphine-5

Any of you read When Dimple Met Rishi? – wait, of course you have – I’m the only bimbo still catching up! Tell me, what’d ya think; no spoilers though; still reading! What are you reading? It’s Monday! You gotta be reading something besides my meaningless chatters! I could chatter forever, ya know, so best advise I can give ya is to STEP AWAY FROM THE VIRTUAL SPACE and PICK UP A BOOK, but first leave a comment below so we can babble our little hearts out!

(Image credits go to Google)

7 thoughts on “Babble To Señorita Babbler About Whatcha Reading On This Monday

  1. I loooved that ‘Hello, future wife’ scene so much; it cracked me up – I don’t think I have ever laughed so out loud in my entire life lol
    Hope you end up liking that book. I’m re-reading The Catcher in the Rye right now if you’re interested *wink*

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

