Babbles on Book Buying Habits

Dear fellow babblers,

UCLA has finally managed to bid farewell to the babbler – and no, I was not finally kicked to USC for my endless babbles… Your fellow babbler graduated! Now I get to devote the rest of my meaningless life as a full-time, thriving, unpaid book reviewer, writing posts few of you will likely finish reading – ain’t no babbler like another babbler!

The last few days festivities have resulted in little time spent reading, and no doubt little time spent here. So here I sit…banana in hand, looking out to the busy street below my second floor apartment window. Here in Los Angeles. Approximately 8:38 pm with a bright computer screen blinding me. I spent the last two hours blog hopping in hopes of gaining some insightful idea on what to ” book chat ” about. Eventually I discovered Thrice Read’s totally profesh site and thought, ” Hey Delphine, why not tag yourself and join the rest of your fellow book reviewers in this book tag thing “.

Two hours later

Lets talk book buying habits…

Where do you buy your books from?
I’m a lucky bee. Here in Los Angeles I get to choose from a wide variety of used and new bookshops. My personal favorite used book stores include The Last Bookstore and Book Soup. If I’m shopping for covers to add to my collection, I’ll usually go to Barnes & Noble, just cause I already know that it’s more likely that I’ll prettier and more updated editions of classic novels as well as Penguins Deluxe copies.

Do you ever pre-order books and if so, do you do this in-store or online?
Nope. Not at all. I love going to the bookshop and spontaneously buying anything that appeals to me in the spur of the moment. I feel as though there is a lot more meaning attached in the experience of reading the inside cover (or back) of a novel and deciding, right then and there whether I want to take this book hope with me and add to my collection, or put it back on the shelf and move on to the next possibility.

On average, how many books do you buy a month?
Oh dear, dare we even go there?!?!?1 I get paid weekly, right? I go to the bookshop every weekend, right? I walk out of the bookshop with no less than five novels each time, right? Now, you do the math (in case your long-addition-intolerant that adds up to about 20 books a month – * NO self control *).

IMG_0634

(one of four of my books shelves – the other three not as grandly organized – hence the photo of this shelf and not the others)

Do you use your local library?
If we’re talking in terms of air conditioning, comfy chairs, silence – overall aura – then totally! For books however no no no. I love the feeling of reading a book that I own, knowing that it’s mine and I can reread it as many times as I like and never hand it over to the next person. I’m a huge book collector and borrowing books is something I only do for research purposes. Throughout my university career, I took part in several various research projects that required me to read through several theoretical texts. In that regard, the library here at UCLA was especially valuable for us students. But for my own pesonal « pleasure » reading, I bring my own personal books and love coming to the library just for the peaceful atmosphere and lose myself for hours reading.

If so, how many do you borrow at a time?
I remember when I was researching early electronic literature and hypertexts I had up to 26 books checked out (UCLA allows you to check out up to 200 books – good ‘ole Bruin book-life)

What’s your opinion on library books?
Mehh. Check out. Read. Return. Repeat. Books handed down and traveling into different hands, being consumed by different hands. I mean, what more is there to say?

How do you feel about charity shop/second hand books?
I used to buy a lot of books second hand throughout my adolescence when I had a very limited allowance that was split between chocolate-buying and book-buying. Now however, since I work and get a pay check every week, I find myself more and more opting for newer books with beautifully flawless and updated covers (can you tell yet that I’m a huge « judge a book by its cover » gal? )than going to second hand shops where the covers are usually aged and often torn or damaged.

Do you keep your read and TBR pile together/on the same bookshelf or not?
There must have been some period where I was huge on book organization and keeping all my read books on a separate shelf than my TBR pile. As of lately, because of all the new books I’ve been purchasing (my book-shopping has spiraled wayyyyy out of control these past few months) I’m quickly runnin out of shelf, and even floor space so there no longer seems to be any sort of logic attached to where my books are placed other than: « hey! If the shoe fits, wear it! ».

Do you plan to read all the books you own?
The way I’m going in my 20 books a month purchases, I’m not so sure that’s ever going to happen. However, I definitely want to! I love the feeling of passing by my bookshelves and admiring those that I have read so far, and those which I would like to read next.
What do you do with books that you own and that you’ll feel you’ll never read/enjoy?
Uhhhh…Hmm… yuhhhh-nooo. I love books. I read. Even if I don’t like a book halfway through, I continue reading it because I like to reflect on what exactly about the book I did not enjoy and, hey, why not use the opportunity to write a review, even if it’s a negative one?

Have you ever donated books?
I’m really selfish about my books. My friends and family don’t dare ask to borrow one of my books cause I’m a huge stickler. So giving them away seems almost out of the question! Even if I didn’t like a book, I just can’t bring myself to simply give it away.

Do you feel like you buy too many books?
20 + books a month! REPEAT. 20 + books a month! Long babble short. YES. Imagine all the extra chocolate money I would have if I would only park my tootsie at home for a weekend instead of waltzing over to the bookshop! I’d definitely bet about 20 pounds heavier, but would definitely have more floor space (my books have begun to find a home throughout the floor of my flat… No more shelf space 😦 ).

books and cats

Yours Truly,

Now, fellow babblers. C’mon. You know what to do. Send me a babble! What are your book-buying habits like?

(Image credits go to Google)

 

17 thoughts on “Babbles on Book Buying Habits

  1. It’s also my habit to drop into a second-hand book shop and stay there for hours on end, scavenging on books I’ve been looking for. And.. I used to stay in our school libraries and tried to read the books counterclockwise. Hahhaha I got exhilarated by using many library cards. 🙂 Finally, it’s my dream to fill half of my house with books to the rafter. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. My book buying has changed so much over the years. When I took classes on campus and even when I taught on campus I was that person who “illegally” bought books from the textbook piles. I saw books that looked interesting and would scoop them up. I am a huge book buyer as well, for the same reasons you are. But NOW I rarely shop at a bookstore. I buy a lot online, and I usually know what I am going for. This is thanks to blogging for several years. I now know so many people both writing and recommending that I am always ordering out way ahead of being able to read something. I have shelves of unread books :/.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I would love to buy books online, but I’m still fairly new (graduated uni this past Friday!) to book buying and all this social media in the book community so I’ve found goodreads and others blogs especially helpful in discovering what I should look for in terms of my reading and what to put ahead in my TBR pile. Same my shelf, once a storage of the fictional universes that I have traversed has more and more become a site of pretty covers and new buys.
      Thanks for checking out my blog, I’m a huge admirer of yours! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Wow congrats on graduating!!! hahaha wow that shelf is glorious (both in organisation and the sheer number of books- I’m impressed!!) I think it’s amazing that you have such an incredible collection of books!! To be honest, I wish I could do the same!!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Am rather envious of your access to that rather smart looking bookshop. I’m glad in many ways that I am not close to a large book store because I would be so tempted.

    thanks for dropping by on my blog today. Looking forward to hearing more from you and your reading adventures

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh dear no. Living near a large book store has it’s perks only if you have self control. I occassion the book store wayyyy too often and have spent so much money on books, book marks, colorful bookish decorations – anything to make my book adventures that much more enchanting.
      Same to you! I look forward to reading more of your blogs and hearing about your reading adventures as well.
      Happy reading! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks! I’m still amazed that I even made it through the four years!
      True, sadly though, my bank account has seen many negatives due to my living right down the street from multiple new AND used bookshops.
      *sigh* Typical bookworm struggles

      Liked by 1 person

  5. As I live in a non English speaking country but love your language I use only Amazon. I love going to a bookshop and smeĺling the bookw. I can get dizzy with the colors LOL Unfortunately it only happens when I’m buying books for my kids (great bonding time) or when I’m in the UK orUS…

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

